Nothing is Impossible

Attitude is everything, isn’t it?

It can totally determine the outcome of any situation;  whether you walk away thinking positively or negatively about something. 

And even missionaries can have bad attitudes.

We get asked all of the time about our worst experiences.  People want to know the gritty stories. 

It makes me nervous.  It makes me look at every situation and wonder if this is gonna be the one I tell people about.  And I don’t like it. 

Don’t get me wrong here.  I mean I have heard some bad stories, and it’s not just in the case of missionaries.  People can be cruel, and unfortunately sometimes we hurt each other.  And I’m sorry for the people who have experienced things that left some deep scars, but I’m more sorry for the people who did or said the nasty things

But I hope at the end of our deputation process we don’t have any bad stories.  Everyone keeps telling me you have to have at least one, but I’m still holding on to the hope that we don’t sit around and talk about all of the negative things that we saw and experienced, but all of the good, and all of the ways we saw God work and take care of us.   

Now I’m not perfect.  And this past week I had to have an attitude check of my own.  We were at a missions conference Wednesday through Sunday.  We were the only missionaries, and we had to drive 45 minutes there and back each day.  I got tired.  I needed lots of prayer.  And I called my mom and asked her to pray for me to have more love and more wisdom to see how to handle the week.  And I saw God provide that.  I love week-long missions conferences, because I think they give you more time for a lot of things: to know the people, to see what’s going on, to share your passion, to see what God wants to do, and to leave changed.  By Sunday it’s always hard to leave.  Throughout the whole week, we averaged about 15 people every night including me and Jordan. It’s easy for your thoughts to take you different places, but you have a choice on believing them.  We just continued to pray.  Sunday there was 25 people.  and we gave it all we had.  Jordan preached out of 1 Kings 17:7-16.  It was just as much of a message for us as it was for those people.  They collected a love offering at the end of the service.  We said our goodbyes after the service and went out to lunch with the Pastor’s family and then we headed home.  I had over heard how much they collected, and I asked Jordan if he had looked at the check.  He said no and asked me to open it.  I told him he was going to be shocked. I read it.  $668 dollars.  We were humbled.  We wouldn’t change our experience for anything.  God aligned all of it.  Jordan says in his message that when we’re dealing with God…it’s never business as usual.  How true.  God is good.  Praise Him for His sovereignty.  Bless those people for their sacrifice and giving.      

Change my heart oh God.

2 Responses to “Nothing is Impossible”

  1. A Lesson Learned in Humility « Luminous Vignettes Says:

    […] expectations.  Nikki shared about it on her blog, so I’m not going to recap the whole thing here, but suffice to say, God has been teaching me that He truly is in control of our lives.  My […]

  2. Marc Buxton Says:

    Awesome Nikki 🙂

Leave a Reply

