From the Kitchen

I love cooking, and I love trying new things.  It doesn’t matter if it’s healthy or totally loaded down with the works, I just enjoy food.  I’m a foody, and I come from a line of foodies.  I don’t pretend to know a lot about food and the science that goes into it all, I just know what I like.  It’s been fun traveling around on deputation and being in different parts of the country and trying the local flair, but I’m not gonna lie…it’s rough on my body.  I seem to gain weight just thinking about food.  Makes me wonder how all these Food Channel, and Travel Channel people do it…

So I’ve been taking a healthier approach lately and here are a few things I whipped up this week.

Homemade Applesauce

8 Golden Delicious Apples (peeled, cored, and chopped)

1 1/2 cups of water

2 teaspoons of 100% Stevia

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon (though I didn’t measure…I just dumped it in)

Mix it all together in a pot, boil it on medium heat for 15-20 minutes, let it cool, and then mash it all up.  How easy is that!?  And I know some store brands may be convenient, cause all you have to do is open them, but I promise this is way better!

And secondly I was really craving this pizza I had with my friends Amanda and Jasen in Sacramento at a pizza place they took us to.  So I made my own version:

I don’t have a catchy title for it…any ideas?  But its Anjou Pear, Havarti Cheese, Walnuts, with Honey on a whole wheat crust. 

No real recipe here….Just for the crust, which I got from my friend Mindy

Pizza Crust

5 cups flour (I used a mixture of whole wheat with a little white flour to balance it out)

2 packages of yeast

2 Tablespoons of Sugar (I used 100% Stevia)

2 cups of hot water

1/4 cup of oil

 1 tsp. salt

Mix together and let rise about 20 minutes.  Seperate into 3 pieces.  Put on pizza pans and let rise again for about 5-10 minutes.  These can be frozen for later use or made ahead of time.  I made them the night before and put damp paper towles on them and wrapped them really well to keep them moist.

One Response to “From the Kitchen”

  1. eringelino Says:

    I really love that first photo with all the containers. I don’t know why. I like in a sort of weird plasticy ironic way. Is plasticy a word? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

